Vermicomposting, or WTF

Hot Compost 1   Hot Compost 2   Hot Compost 3

Ok, so I have a very active colony of soldier grubs hanging out in my compost. I first discovered them a week ago and I gotta say, they freaked me out. At first glance, it seemed like my compost may have an infestation and be unusable. And while it’s definitely overrun, apparently the creepy crawlies are enriching the pile.

Isn’t he so cute?

During the week I buried a whole rotted cabbage, an entire watermelon rind, a pineapple rind, and various other scraps. Want to see what’s left of all of that? (And I did a thorough turning today, so this is certainly ALL that is left:)

Pretty cool, right? Well now it’s time to get really grossed out. I didn’t have my camera with me when I first surprised the baby soldiers, so it’s a crappy phone pic, but I think you’ll get the gist.

Holy WTF

I really wished I had some nice big fat hens to toss these guys to. But at least I did fetch my husband some bait. I could hear them crawling around in the container.  Heebie jeebies!!!

Author: Morgan Mill

Thanks for reading!

1 thought on “Vermicomposting, or WTF”

Leave a Reply

