Watermelon Challenges

Got some beautiful watermelon plants – Charleston Gray – growing in reusable grocery bags. I’m going to go ahead and embarrass myself by publishing some assumptions without first doing research.  

  • Container gardening poses challenges with moisture sometimes more so than gardening in the ground
  • Cloth bags don’t hold moisture all that well (hence people posting things like “it’s impossible to over water”)
  • Water- fucking- melon should probably receive plenty of water, Yeah?
  • I’ve been a bit of a stingy waterer thus far

And now for the drum roll………

Presenting Blossom End Rot!

So far it only seems like 2 of the 9 babies are affected.  And now I solemnly swear to water them every day until they are nearly ripe (if we are so blessed to make it that far) and I will at that point withhold water for the sole purpose of sweetening.

Out of curiosity Silas and I cut into one. He said, “I bet it’s red inside!” I said, “I bet it’s white.”  Well, guess who was right?

My baby!

They smell fantastic and are surprisingly sweet for being so little.

(Now, let’s just cross our fingers that it’s not a real calcium deficiency.)

Author: Morgan Mill

Thanks for reading!

1 thought on “Watermelon Challenges”

Leave a Reply

