Heirlooms in Cheapo Containers

$1 apiece. Marshall’s bags. Huge and less porous than the cloth kind of shopping bag, so holds moisture better. I would call it a successful experiment. I have indeterminate heirlooms overtaking six foot bamboo stakes and producing lovely fruit, all contained within these colorful bags. 

These came from Burpee’s heirloom assortment, which I did my best to examine for differences hoping to reap the greatest probable variety.

It worked pretty well, because so far I have tasted a cuostralee:


A pink brandywine:



Lots of golden sunbursts:

A black krim and a couple of djena lee’s golden girls (r.i.p. djena’s girl….best tangy flavor but the stem rotted somehow):

And a hundred and fifty million red currants (separate seed pack) but still not too many to keep up with eating them fresh. And they’re the best!


Next summer I would like to put the tomatoes into the ground, mostly because of my own ideals about what a real garden should look like. But honestly, this is working out really well. The cheapy bags hold plenty of soil, they are sturdy enough to move around a bit, and the bamboo stakes do pretty well supporting everything. I do think my supports move a bit too much and maybe that’s why my djena’s girl died. Not sure. But overall, I claim success! Would recommend.

But one mystery remains. What the hell is sticking out of my tomato stakes?

Author: Morgan Mill

Thanks for reading!

1 thought on “Heirlooms in Cheapo Containers”

  1. Beautiful Harvest!  Next year I am following suit and using the bags to grow.  Looks so yummy.  Your hard work yielded great harvest this season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

